Renew

There comes a point when you have to make a decision. A decision to search inside and find what is right for you (and you alone), to let go of the things you can’t control and believe that your heart can handle more than you could ever imagine. I’ve taken a break from a lot of the things I used to enjoy, writing included, not on purpose at first but more so as time passed to reflect on what is really ‘me.’ Not the me that everyone is used to seeing on a daily basis, but the me inside that is trying to come across yet still filled with a sense of self-doubt.

I find often that when you make a change there are some around you who are quick to judge, which then only increases the challenge to carry on. I’ve come to realize that it’s rising above the challenge and committing to your change that works to silence the doubt both around and within you. I’m in that place at the moment, trying to embrace wholeheartedly what makes me ‘me;’ I’m the first one to admit that I’d rather be someone who blends in with the crowd than one who stands out…but sometimes you have to follow your heart and go against the grain.

When I started this blog I was in a state of utter despair and emptiness. I chose the title ‘blue vancouver skies’ because it reflected how I felt, blue, sad and alone. Now I see the title as a glimpse of hope; blue no longer stands for that period in my life, instead it represents the clear blue skies ahead that let the sun shine through and the joy flow in. It’s a conscious effort to embrace the best of every day and while we all slip from time to time, it’s the fact that we can step back, realize our faltering, and get back on the high road, that will keep us committed to seeing the good that lies ahead.

“The world is full of a lot of fear and a lot of negativity, and a lot of judgment. I just think people need to start shifting into joy and happiness. As corny as it sounds, we need to make a shift.” ~Ellen DeGeneres

While not easy at times, I’m committing to make a shift. I’m more than enough and with every step I take towards embracing and believing in myself, I’ll be taking a step towards all that life has to offer.

Thanks for stopping by.

xoxo

J.

Leave a Reply

