Sundays…

make me smile! Today was another one for the books. Sitting in the front yard with the sun beating down on my back, it felt like an early summer morning. I love love love the birds that have become my instant alarm clock; I’ll even give up some extra weekend sleep to listen to their songs. Earlier in the week I found some ‘assemble yourself’ birdhouses at Walmart and had put the pre-cut pieces together on Friday night. I took time to stain them with a cherry-wood finish this morning and I think they’re so cute! I hope the birds like them as much as I do.

Next weekend is my parent’s 29th Wedding anniversary, and while they’ll be away to the Sunshine Coast for the weekend, my brother and I plan to head to the farm Saturday morning and return with enough flowers and fresh dirt to fill the front flower boxes/beds. This all of course depends on whether or not my little bro decides to crawl out of bed! Let’s hope that he does. I would also really like to create some of these for our front maple trees.

I spotted these on DesignSponge back in October, and can’t wait for a chance to make 2 or 3 of these beauties!

After I finished staining my birdhouses, I decided to spend the afternoon in the kitchen. Apricot flax buttermilk scones, baked acorn squash and asparagus, along with gnocchi topped with a homemade white-cream sauce, were all a product of my fun…and will either be a part of my breakfast or lunch at work tomorrow.

Yesterday, I went shopping for a little birthday gift and ended up at Chapters. A long time ago I came across Lucia’s soaps and candles (I think it was actually at Zing Paperie in Coal Harbour…or Nikaido in Steveston) and fell in love with all of their wonderful scents. It wasn’t however until last night when I came across them once again at Chapters, that I realized Lucia is made right here in Canada…you can find them online at one of my favourite Canadian online shops room6. My two personal favorite’s are Olive Oil & Laurel Leaf and Pomegranate & Red Currant.


All weekend I’ve been filled with this inner-childish giddiness. I’m excited by possibilities…we’ll just have to wait and see before I say any more.

I’m hoping that the sunshine makes an appearance this week! There’s nothing like a Spring breeze mixed with the sun and blue sky above you when you escape the office for an hour in the afternoon.

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday evening. Thanks for stopping by. xoxo.

Leave a Reply

